You are here:

John R. Park Debate Society Hosts 49th Annual Great Salt Lake Invitational; Wins 32 Awards

The John R. Park Debate Society kicked off its Spring 2019 season by hosting the 49th annual Great Salt Lake Invitational on January 18-21, 2019. The event was attending by 26 schools from 12 states and featured over 250 competitors, coaches, and judges. The Debate Society was joined by the University of Texas at El Paso who co-hosted the event that included the UTEP Classic. Across the weekend, students competed in twelve competitive formats of forensics across 4 tournaments, winning over 30 awards. The team will look to maintain this momentum when they travel to Lincoln, Nebraska for their next competition on January 26-27, 2019. 


UTEP Classic

Tournament Sweepstakes Champions - University of Utah
Individual Events Awards:
1st place - Communication Analysis - Chris de Freitas
1st place - Informative Speaking - Ben Jensen
1st place - Persuasive Speaking - Averie Vockel
1st place - Extemporaneous Speaking - Shad Wojciechowski
1st place - Impromptu Speaking - Katie Workman
2nd place - After Dinner Speaking - Shad Wojciechowski
2nd place - Dramatic Interpretation - Zac Ray
2nd place - Extemporaneous Speaking - Katie Workman
3rd place - Programmed Oral Interpretation - Zac Ray
3rd place - After Dinner Speaking - Averie Vockel
3rd place - Persuasive Speaking - Katie Workman
4th place - After Dinner Speaking - Ben Jensen
4th place - Communication Analysis - Grace Osusky
4th place - Prose Interpretation - Zac Ray
5th place - Informative Speaking - Vivian Lee
5th place - Communication Analysis - Ashton Poindexter 
6th place - Impromptu Speaking - Chris de Freitas
7th place - Impromptu Speaking - Ashton Poindexter
Debate Awards:
Top Speaker - IPDA Debate - Courtney Nilson
2nd Place - IPDA Debate - Courtney Nilson
Semifinalist - IPDA Debate - Leo Doctorman
Great Salt Lake Invitational
Individual Events Awards:
1st place - After Dinner Speaking - Zac Ray
1st place - Programmed Oral Interpretation - Zac Ray
3rd place - Prose Interpretation - Zac Ray
4th place - Persuasive Speaking - Zac Ray
Debate Awards:
Top Novice Speakers - BP Debate - Vivian Lee & Katie Workman
6th place speaker - BP Debate - Katie Workman
7th place speaker - BP Debate - Vivian Lee
10th place speaker - NPDA Debate - Ashton Poindexter
Finalists - BP Debate - Vivian Lee & Katie Workman
Octofinalists - NPDA Debate - Chris de Freitas & Courtney Nilson


Last Updated: 1/23/19